Apply MTF Recreate

Any questions regarding the practice version are asked and answered here.
Post Reply
Samuel Van Eldik
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 11:55 am
Location: Exmouth
Contact:

Apply MTF Recreate

Post by Samuel Van Eldik »

I HAVE DESIGN STRINGS FROM MY CLIENT. I HAVE REMOVED UNWANTED STRINGS FOR THE ALIGNMENT. THEN RUN THE APPLY MTF RECREATE. AS YOU CAN SEE FROM THE SCREEN SHOT THE CROSS SECTION HAVE NOT EXTENDED OUT ALL THE WAY TO THE DESIGN STRINGS.
IT HAS IN SOME LOCATION ALONG THE ALIGNMENT IS HAS EXTENDED OUT TO THE LAST STRING.

WHAT WILL CAUSE THIS TO HAPPEN?
Sam Cech
Posts: 4135
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 12:56 pm
Location: Silverdale, NZ
Contact:

Re: APPLY MTF RECREATE

Post by Sam Cech »

Caps Lock

no screen shot attached
Cheers
Sam

Tatras Consulting Ltd
www.tatras.co.nz
Samuel Van Eldik
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 11:55 am
Location: Exmouth
Contact:

Re: APPLY MTF RECREATE

Post by Samuel Van Eldik »

Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (43.79 KiB) Viewed 24154 times
Lee Gregory
12d Support
Posts: 2011
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 6:06 pm

Re: APPLY MTF RECREATE

Post by Lee Gregory »

Samuel,
Nothing can be checked without the data.

If you don't want to post it here, send it to support@12d.com with a message saying what the problem is.
Samuel Van Eldik
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 11:55 am
Location: Exmouth
Contact:

Re: APPLY MTF RECREATE

Post by Samuel Van Eldik »

Hi Lee

I will need a link to upload the data. platinum_surveys@me.com
Graeme Winfield
Posts: 1778
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 10:59 am
Contact:

Re: APPLY MTF RECREATE

Post by Graeme Winfield »

Link sent.
Richard Mitchell
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2014 11:52 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: APPLY MTF RECREATE

Post by Richard Mitchell »

Hey Sam.
Didn't we need xml data because it had unique naming from the client and the dwg version of the same data had mini loops in part? From memory the dwg version failed to make cross sections all the way out.
What is the originating design software used? Give us a call if you like.
RMitchell
Arup
Richard Mitchell
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2014 11:52 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: APPLY MTF RECREATE

Post by Richard Mitchell »

Hi Lee.
Was there an answer to Sam's issue? I am facing this same thing on data which did build in the first few instances of a Recreate being reapplied, however now a small section seems to not be built within the single line mtf snippet on the right modifier.
Where are my strings.jpg
Where are my strings.jpg (118.06 KiB) Viewed 23107 times
I deleted the function and tried to rebuild again from scratch (had the two left/right panels open to copy from for trimesh data) but still the same issue.
The Construction Data model is complete and matches, as best as possible, the design strings model. What might be issue when creating the Construction Strings model used for mesh data?
The string data is copied from a share model and I use a shared SA string. Tried with a direct SA string copied to the project but no dice.

NB.
The Recreate is run over the both sides of the road and the mtf is only applied to one side.

SOLVED
In this instance the linestrings had a visualisation link vis (possibly) a colour name, not seen in the colours.4d
Ran a simple mapfile to change the colours to 4d options and the missing strings appeared.
RMitchell
Arup
Graeme Winfield
Posts: 1778
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 10:59 am
Contact:

Re: APPLY MTF RECREATE

Post by Graeme Winfield »

Richard Mitchell wrote: Wed Oct 18, 2023 7:43 pm Was there an answer to Sam's issue?
Hi Richard

There is no evidence that Sam sent in his data to see what was going on.


Richard Mitchell wrote: Wed Oct 18, 2023 7:43 pm SOLVED
Is this issue all sorted now?
Richard Mitchell
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2014 11:52 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: APPLY MTF RECREATE

Post by Richard Mitchell »

I think for the missing strings. It seems like it was extrusions or non-formal colour playing havoc with the internal snippet workings on the Apply recreate function panel.
Lots of function deletes and copy left/right modifiers from a backup project. They cannot be open and the function deleted to run a new Recreate panel and make the Construction models again, via the inbuilt snippet.

So convert data to linestyle = 1 and make the colours white, magenta, orange, etc to be safe prior to running a Recreate.
RMitchell
Arup
Ed Wilson
Posts: 2873
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 7:49 pm

Re: Apply MTF Recreate

Post by Ed Wilson »

colour & linestyle have zero to do with it
Post Reply