NEWBIE - terminating templates at an angle? B DRAIN to F DRAIN

Any questions regarding the practice version are asked and answered here.
Hannah Tatam

NEWBIE - terminating templates at an angle? B DRAIN to F DRA

Post by Hannah Tatam »

Hello!

Firstly - I'm a newbie and I'm unable to read a few of the design forums, so I apologise if this question has already been asked.

I currently have a MTF template that is intersecting another MTF template at an angle. Is there any way to terminate a MTF template at an angle using the modifiers?

I understand I delete sections using "Fixed - Remove" but that looks staggered and messy. I'm interest in trying to us MTF snippet but am not familiar with it.

Any advice would be appreciated :)

FYI - the first MTF is a B drain, so shaped like this:
.._
/...\
......\_/
(please ignore the full stops)

and the second is an F drain, so shaped like this:

\_/

Very hard to smooth over when intersecting at an angle! 8)
Thankyou Kindly....

Hannah
Steve Hunter

Post by Steve Hunter »

Intersecting at angles is always ugly - you can usually trim on one side (using your fixed remove), but like you say on the other you wind up with steps, because you wind up trimming the inside strings before the next. You can always remove the resultant steps with width modifiers to push the strings back out, but it is a fiddly process.

Have you investigated fencing the strings to a new model (minus the overlaps), and using that?
Michael Gunter

Post by Michael Gunter »

If you can send me through a 12da of the data you are trying to merge I'll have a look with V11 in mind. Steve if you've got a couple of typical examples ditto.
Hannah Tatam

Post by Hannah Tatam »

Hi Steve / Michael!

Thanks so much for getting back to me - very kind of you. :)

Steve - I haven't heard of fencing the strings and am not sure what this process refers to. (As a bit of background about me, I'm a graduate transport engineer and this is only my 3rd day of using 12d. :wink: ).