Sharing: Beware of Deleting Empty Folders

Post Reply
Lee Gregory
12d Support
Posts: 1831
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 6:06 pm

Sharing: Beware of Deleting Empty Folders

Post by Lee Gregory »

WARNING - DO NOT DELETE ALL EMPTY FOLDERS

We've just had a customer who upgraded to a new Server and all their Project sharing disappeared.

On investigation we discovered that IT have been running a script to DELETE all empty folders on the system.
So all the .ref folders used for Sharing were deleted and Sharing can no longer work.

So if IT are talking about moving all your data to a new Server, make sure that they DON'T DELETE ANYTHING.

If IT is using Robocopy, using /E preserves empty folders.
Post Reply