Copy project folder to new location without link to the first

Any questions regarding the practice version are asked and answered here.
Post Reply
Baron Collocott
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2021 5:55 pm

Copy project folder to new location without link to the first

Post by Baron Collocott »

Hi,
I've been trying to copy an entire project from one location to another without any ties/links to the original project. I went to http://12dwiki.com.au/backup-a-12d-model-project/ and tried that but it links the two files and if I edit one then it updates the other :?

Is there a way? Pretty much like using SaveAs in word...

Thanks
Matthew Monk
Posts: 3175
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 2:46 pm

Re: Copy project folder to new location without link to the first

Post by Matthew Monk »

The only things I can think of that would still be linked back to the original project would be:
  • A shortcut file (*.lnk), which is created when the project is first created (and so probably still points to the old project)- can be deleted
  • Sharing data - did you add any shared models or tins to the project before it was copied?
How are you accessing the project that it's linking/editing both?
Advanced12d.com - Tips, tricks and tutorials for users of 12d Model and 12d Synergy

Check out the *NEW* 12d Synergy Community Forum- share your ideas and ask questions.
Baron Collocott
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2021 5:55 pm

Re: Copy project folder to new location without link to the first

Post by Baron Collocott »

Hi Matthew,

Thanks for your reply and help
  • I was unable to find the .lnk file. Had a look in the .project folder but couldn't find it there.
  • I didn't add any shared models
  • I used the copy function from the "Open a Recent Project" dialog box that first opens when loading 12d and copied it to a totally different folder. I then opened the one and edited something then closed it and opened the other. What I'd done had replicated across
Matthew Monk wrote: Tue Sep 07, 2021 7:03 pm
  • A shortcut file (*.lnk), which is created when the project is first created (and so probably still points to the old project)- can be deleted
  • Sharing data - did you add any shared models or tins to the project before it was copied?
  • How are you accessing the project that it's linking/editing both?
Post Reply